Delayed Posession of Flat - Tax Implications

Share This Thread
  1. Sanjiv16

Sanjiv16 New Member

I would like your views on the tax implication for the below –
    I booked a flat with a builder in Nov 2009 and got a home loan sanctioned for the same in Jan 2010. The home loan was a “”Construction Linked Plan”” loan with the first disbursement being made in Feb 2010 and the last disbursement in June 2012. I got possession of the flat in April 2016, and the registry done. The registry was done at a higher rate, as the circle rate was higher than the cost of flat(when booked). The difference in cost of flat and circle rate is +14 lacs. What would be the income tax implications on the above ? The said flat is still empty and woodwork is to be done, and will most probably be let out. The EMI for housing loan I have been paying since April 2010. What housing loan deductions can be claimed for the above ? And what would be the income tax liability on the difference in circle rate and cost of flat when booked ? Am presently staying in a rented flat in the same city. Thanks in advance for the help.

2. ZED

ZED Well-Known Member

S.56(2)(vii) where an individual or a Hindu undivided family receives, in any previous year, from any person
    (b) any immovable property,
    (ii) for a consideration which is less than the stamp duty value of the property by an amount exceeding fifty thousand rupees, the stamp duty value of such property as exceeds such consideration:

Provided that where the date of the agreement fixing the amount of consideration for the transfer of immovable property and the date of registration are not the same, the stamp duty value on the date of the agreement may be taken for the purposes of this sub-clause: