Freelance Developer Tax Queries

Share This Thread
  1. Ankush Chadda

Ankush Chadda New Member

Hello,

I am a fulltime freelancer . I work on freelance websites which help me connect to many International Clients. These websites also serve a purpose of converting another currency to Indian rupees and does NEFT to my bank account. Now, I dont raise any invoice of any kind. I bid on these websites, I get the contract and I get the payment on completion. NOTE - I do not get payments in other currency. I get payments in only Rupees.

Now, I am assuming my income will be around 12LPA in FY 14-15. I also pay some of the fellow developers for their work, that they do for me.

Now in this situation,
    • Will I be filling ITR -4 this year?
    • I have heard I can deduct these payments ( given to fellow developers) and other expenditures like laptop or rent of the office where I work, from the total taxable income. Am i right about this?
    • Now as I understand, I provide a service to clients outside India and sometimes to Indian as well. What about my Service tax? How am I accountable for that?
    • I don't believe I have an export business here, but I am not sure, which type of business is this( export or servicing ). I have read about a Export code . Do I need to register it?
    • I keep an excel sheet to account my account inflow and outflow. I have read online that govt advises on specific ways in how to maintain accounts. But in my case, I have very less cash in and out flow. What should be my legal way to handle accounts, if I have to .

Thanks for going through all my queries.

Last edited: Aug 23, 2014
  2. Parul_Gupta

Parul_Gupta Active Member

Dear Ankush

1. Yes, you would be filing your Income Tax Return in ITR 4