Part of Income payed to an associate by an (Individual Freelancer)

Share This Thread
  1. JaiTN

JaiTN New Member

Hello Sir/Madam,
    I'm a freelance graphic designer and receive Payment only through PayPal . I used to pay a part of payment for a project to the person who helped in conceptualization of the design. Also to note this is not on permanent basis. Only if the project is success and the person had his input, I pay apart(about 40%) of the Payment I received for that project. How can i deduct the amount I paid to my associate in my total income as I receive only through paypal and i pay him through cash...
    Please anyone help me on this topic..

2. ZED

ZED Well-Known Member

This is your income from profession and the amount which you pay to him can be deducted as an expense. You will need to file ITR-4 and compute P&L. In your case you are mandatorily required to maintain proper books of accounts.[Refer S.44AA(1) for more details in respect of maintenance of records.]

3. JaiTN

JaiTN New Member

Thanks ZED for the reply..But still I've doubts...As I said earlier I earn through freelancing/crowdsourcing sites, so not registered as a company, just working from home online...So what is the legal procedure to maintain account books ..My expenses are nothing other than the equipment purchase(Computer,software) and the amount paid to the person as mentioned in original post(only on project basis-not permanent)..So my question is how to show legally i paid him for a particular project..Will a signed voucher is enough?

4. ZED

ZED Well-Known Member

Yes, Jatin it would be enough provided the Aggregate payment at any one time/day is not more than 20,000 (if made in cash) in respect of a single transaction.