Sell source code directly from blog through email: what taxes are applicable?

Share This Thread
  1. Gururaj P Kharvi

Gururaj P Kharvi New Member

I'm a Individual android developer(not own any company) and I have a android blog where i decided to sell my android project source code to my visitors through email after he makes payment through paypal or skrill. May i know whether it is valid to sell product like this? and if it is fine to sell then please let me know the taxes(national & international). I'm just a beginner. Please HELP.

2. ZED

ZED Well-Known Member

You are earning income from profession and hence as per S.44AA of the Income Tax Act,1961 , you are mandatorily required to maintain all the records.
    All your income and expenses which are related to business should be recorded by you.

How much do you earn? If you earn more than 10 Lakhs in a year then Service tax is also applicable. Service in relation to information technology software is a taxable service.
    In some cases it is possible that Service tax is not applicable but VAT is applicable.
    When the software is provided as a "goods", in a physical format then it can be treated as good. But, if the software was very specific as per the requirement of the client then it would be considered as service only and ST will be applicable and VAT won't apply.

Kindly read the highlighted text

“Information technology software” means any representation of instruction, data, sound or image, including source code and object code, recorded in a machine readable form, and capable of being manipulated or providing interactivity to a user, by means of a computer or an automatic data processing machine or any other device or equipment.

[S.65B(zzzze) of Finance Act 1994]