service tx payment

Share This Thread

CHIARA FRI New Member

I am an italian chartered accountant.

One of my client, an italian society, pays an Indian agent for commissions and consulting fees on which the 15% service tax is applied.

I presume that the indian agent will then pay the service tax received by my client to the Govt. of India monthly or quarterly.

My question is:

If he buys other services from service providers who, in their turn, apply service tax on them, can he deduct this service tax (i.e. the one he paid to the service providers) from the service tax he has to pay to the Govt. of India (i.e. the one applied to the service he provided to my client), thus paying just for the difference between the two?

Thank you very much for your kind answer,
    best regards.
  2. Ronak Pandya

Ronak Pandya New Member

As per my understanding and going through your query, to my understanding, he can't do that.
  3. ZED

ZED Well-Known Member

When that person who is in India, provides service to a person outside India (being an Society in Italy) then isn't this a case of export of service? [Presuming he is not an intermediary & Provided other conditions are met]
    If its an export of service then there should be no service tax.

Rule 6A of Service Tax rules
    The provision of any service provided or agreed to be provided shall be treated as export of service when, -
    (a) The provider of service is located in the taxable territory,
    (b) The recipient of the service is located outside India,
    (c) The service is not a service specified in the section 66D of the Act,[That is its not in negative list]
    (d) The place of provision of the service is outside India,
    (e) The payment for such services has been received by the provider of service in convertible foreign exchange, and