Tax on Freelancer's Income in India

Share This Thread
  1. dinoortolani

dinoortolani New Member

Hi,

For freelancers and paying advance tax, I read that "Every taxpayer is required to make payment of income tax during the year itself in which the income is earned" -- does this mean the calendar year or assessment year starting April 1st?

Now I'm an international student from India (NRI) studying in the US. Suppose I come back to India and start full time as a freelancer, I pay my regular tax before July 31st - How do I start advance tax after that? Does everything after April 1st of the same year then count towards the advance tax?

And what if the tax liability (http://www.shoutmeloud.com/income-tax-guide-indian-bloggers-freelancers.html) during the year is less than 10,000 rupees? No tax payment required then?

Lastly, I'm a student - not a professional freelancer - but I do some freelance work via writing while I'm also looking to get into domain selling. Am I required to pay advance tax? Or can I pay regular tax and still file the ITR4 form?

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks!

2. Karan Batra

Karan Batra Well-Known Member

Hi

Good to see you here.

1. Advance Tax is required to be paid during the Financial Year based on the estimated income. However, if the tax payable is less than Rs. 10,000 - no Advance Tax is not mandatorily required to be paid.

If total tax payable is less than Rs. 10,000 a person can be it at year end and not during the year as Advance Tax.

2. As you are a student and work part-time, I dont think your tax liability would be so much that you are required to pay Advance Tax. So maybe, in the 1st year - you can check how much tax you are required to pay and then pay it at the year end.

And from 2nd year onwards - pay the Advance Tax accordingly.

3. You would in any case be required to file ITR 4 only.

3. dinoortolani

dinoortolani New Member

Thanks for the reply.